Home > Planning the Journey > Annabel’s Odyssey Initial Itinerary

Annabel’s Odyssey Initial Itinerary

Planning the Journey

I am looking at the Rand McNally Road Atlas for the USA, that first big map of the lower 48 in the very front. I am concentrating for the moment on the southern states. The even numbered highways go east-west, and the odd ones go north-south. I am trying to stay on I-10 and I-20 for the most part. How long I stay in each place will depend mostly on luck and the people I meet. And if I hear of a contact with a good story I will veer off course temporarily. That is the beauty of the Discovery Pass.

The route is a concession to the weather, though I gather it has been freezing the last few days at some points along the route. Being poor is hard work, much harder when is is freezing cold. And I am not talking about the homeless necessarily. Taking public transportation, getting food, and standing in line are all harder in the winter in the north.

If you know someone around those parts that is a member of the new poor that I should meet or if you know any local news jockeys that would talk to me about the project please let me know in the comments.

San Francisco January 9th, 10th

Santa Cruz January 11th

Los Angeles January 12th, 13th, 14th

Phoenix January 15th, 16th

Flagstaff January 17th, 18th

Albuquerque January 19th, 20th

Dallas January 21st, 22nd

Austin January 23rd, 24th, 25th

New Orleans January 26th, 27th, 28th

Mobile January 29th, 30th

Panama City January 31st, February 1st, 2nd

Miami February 1st, 2nd, 3rd

Jacksonville February 5th, 6th

Savannah February 7th, 8th

Fayetteville February 9th, 10th

Raleigh February 11th, 12th

Atlanta February 13th, 14th, 15th

Memphis February 16th, 17th, 18th

Little Rock February 19th, February 20th

Oklahoma City February 21st, 22nd

Las Vegas February 23rd, 24th, 25th

  1. David E Booth Jr
    December 30, 2010 at 8:35 PM

    When you are in Phoenix, look up my ex-wife, She has an interesting tale to tell. Email me for particulars as to her name, phone number, email address, etc.

  2. Jim Flack
    December 30, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    If you are spending time in North Florida, Tallahassee is only 90 miles to the east of Panama City, the new Governor and Cabinet will have taken office by then. It might prove interesting to your research to talk with some of them, visit the poor shelters here, meet with some of the local clergy and see how some of these people survive in the Capital city of Florida. There are many good churches and private organizations helping the poor, homeless and needy.

  3. jonas thaler
    December 31, 2010 at 12:17 AM

    My friends in Las Vegas New Mexico work with the homeless and drug and alcohol clients. They started a shelter there and know an awful lot about the terribly poor population of northern New Mexico. For example, Mora County, NM is the poorest county in America. (also incredibly beautiful!) They are part of a very motivated community in Las Vegas NM trying to make the place livable for everybody. Ironically, I will be there, but Jan 15-18.

  4. Shirley Newbold
    December 31, 2010 at 8:15 AM

    I have some friends in Florida, professionals, who likely have been affected. I’ll let you know if they answer my query. (an attorney, a clinical social worker in private practice, and a self-employed mom)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

